Author Topic: Gelatin on Fridays?  (Read 186 times)

Offline Daniel

  • Feldwebel
  • ***
  • Posts: 2803
  • Thanked: 693 times
Gelatin on Fridays?
« on: June 12, 2020, 07:14:03 PM »
Since gelatin (the ingredient found in non-vegan gummy bears and many other foods) is made from cow hooves, then I was wondering whether we can eat it on Fridays? Seems to fall under a category similar to that of pork rinds, but I'm not sure what the rule is there.
 

Offline Padraig

  • Korporal
  • **
  • Posts: 315
  • Thanked: 444 times
Re: Gelatin on Fridays?
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2020, 07:54:33 PM »
I avoid it. I think of it as the ultra-concentrated form of bone broth, which wouldn't be permitted on Fridays.

Now, if you can find fish gelatin on the other hand... (Apparently it's a thing. I've seen reference to it in archival art restoration as a natural adhesive.)
 
The following users thanked this post: Lynne, Daniel

Offline Maximilian

  • Hauptmann
  • ****
  • Posts: 5445
  • Thanked: 3448 times
Re: Gelatin on Fridays?
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2020, 10:48:59 PM »

Now, if you can find fish gelatin on the other hand...

There's agar. Not too hard to buy.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Agar

Agar (/ˈeɪɡɑːr/ or /ˈɑːɡər/), or agar-agar, is a jelly-like substance, obtained from red algae.[1]

Agar has been used as an ingredient in desserts throughout Asia, and also as a solid substrate to contain culture media for microbiological work. Agar can be used as a laxative, an appetite suppressant, a vegetarian substitute for gelatin, a thickener for soups, in fruit preserves, ice cream, and other desserts, as a clarifying agent in brewing, and for sizing paper and fabrics.
 
The following users thanked this post: Padraig

Offline Jayne

  • Mary Garden
  • Major
  • ****
  • Posts: 13315
  • Thanked: 5560 times
  • Comic Sans Frontières
  • Religion: Roman Catholic
Re: Gelatin on Fridays?
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2020, 11:22:57 AM »
I remember looking it up but I can't remember where, just that I thought it was a good source.  It said that gelatin and collagen powder were permitted on Friday, but pork rinds are not.

That made sense to me because a powder no longer looks or tastes like meat.  Pork rinds look and taste meaty to me.  (Also delicious, but that is beside the point.  :D )
Jesus, meek and humble of heart, make my heart like unto Thine.
 
The following users thanked this post: Lynne

Offline Lynne

  • happy to be Catholic!
  • Mary Garden
  • Hauptmann
  • ****
  • Posts: 9609
  • Thanked: 4397 times
  • We're all special snowflakes
  • Religion: Catholic (SSPX)
Re: Gelatin on Fridays?
« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2020, 11:51:15 AM »
I remember looking it up but I can't remember where, just that I thought it was a good source.  It said that gelatin and collagen powder were permitted on Friday, but pork rinds are not.

That made sense to me because a powder no longer looks or tastes like meat.  Pork rinds look and taste meaty to me.  (Also delicious, but that is beside the point.  :D )

Oh, that's interesting. I try to remember to use collagen powder each day but have skipped Fridays...
In conclusion, I can leave you with no better advice than that given after every sermon by Msgr Vincent Giammarino, who was pastor of St Michael’s Church in Atlantic City in the 1950s:

    “My dear good people: Do what you have to do, When you’re supposed to do it, The best way you can do it,   For the Love of God. Amen.”
 
The following users thanked this post: Jayne

Offline MundaCorMeum

  • Mary Garden
  • Feldwebel
  • ***
  • Posts: 4619
  • Thanked: 4576 times
  • Religion: Catholic
Re: Gelatin on Fridays?
« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2020, 01:46:04 PM »
I remember looking it up but I can't remember where, just that I thought it was a good source.  It said that gelatin and collagen powder were permitted on Friday, but pork rinds are not.

That made sense to me because a powder no longer looks or tastes like meat.  Pork rinds look and taste meaty to me.  (Also delicious, but that is beside the point.  :D )

Oh, that's interesting. I try to remember to use collagen powder each day but have skipped Fridays...

It never even crossed my mind to omit collagen powder ok Fridays 🤦. I have so many other things I'm scrupulous about, this one slipped my radar 🤣
 
The following users thanked this post: Jayne

Offline Lynne

  • happy to be Catholic!
  • Mary Garden
  • Hauptmann
  • ****
  • Posts: 9609
  • Thanked: 4397 times
  • We're all special snowflakes
  • Religion: Catholic (SSPX)
Re: Gelatin on Fridays?
« Reply #6 on: June 13, 2020, 02:46:24 PM »
I remember looking it up but I can't remember where, just that I thought it was a good source.  It said that gelatin and collagen powder were permitted on Friday, but pork rinds are not.

That made sense to me because a powder no longer looks or tastes like meat.  Pork rinds look and taste meaty to me.  (Also delicious, but that is beside the point.  :D )

Oh, that's interesting. I try to remember to use collagen powder each day but have skipped Fridays...

It never even crossed my mind to omit collagen powder ok Fridays 🤦. I have so many other things I'm scrupulous about, this one slipped my radar 🤣

lol I've never thought of myself as scrupulous but here we are.
In conclusion, I can leave you with no better advice than that given after every sermon by Msgr Vincent Giammarino, who was pastor of St Michael’s Church in Atlantic City in the 1950s:

    “My dear good people: Do what you have to do, When you’re supposed to do it, The best way you can do it,   For the Love of God. Amen.”