Salve

Started by Filia Dei, December 27, 2019, 08:27:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Filia Dei

Hello all!

My name is Linda and I came across SD while searching for traditional Catholic forums. I am also a member of Catholic.com forum, and you get some traditional voices on there, but it's overwhelmingly a liberal perspective. My user name is the one that I use on Youtube. My avatar means that I am on an upward trajectory.

I am married to a man who is agnostic but sympathetic to my choice to become Catholic. I am waiting for an annulment before being baptized. I have been seeking and studying Catholicism for over three years now. I live in Port Townsend Washington and the church here is quite liberal. I'm not happy with this, but cannot relocate at this time. The nearest traditional church is a couple of hours away.

I am an INTJ personality type in the Meyers Briggs test. I have a difficult time being in a crowd or around other people for extended amounts of time and prefer to be in prayer by myself. If I do get together with people I need time to myself to recover. That said, I love and treasure people whom I have come to know and I pray for all people of the world.

My favorite books are the Bible (of course. New Jerusalem translation is my favorite), Dean Koontz books, Tolkein, 19th century fairy tales.

My favorite movies: A Man for all Seasons, It's a Wonderful Life, A Christmas Carol 1984 with George C. Scott, Pride and Prejudice (with Colin Firth), Les Miserables (1952 with Michael Rennie), Gone with the Wind. My all-time favorite movie is Sunrise, a song of Two Humans, a silent film with George O'Brien and Janet Gaynor. It's a beautiful story of a simple country man who has a simple loving wife but gets tempted enough by a city girl to plot to kill his wife. The rest of the film is his attempt to repair his marriage and it is beautiful.