What Kind of Artwork Have You Tried?

Started by The Curt Jester, June 22, 2021, 05:41:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

The Curt Jester

In the spirit of Queen.saints thread about cooking (HAVE YOU...), here's one about being an artist. 

Have you tried art of any kind? 
What medium?
What did you make?
How successful? 
Have you ever sold anything you made?
If you were to try again, what would you use?

I'll post my answers in a different post to keep the question part open.
The royal feast was done; the King
Sought some new sport to banish care,
And to his jester cried: "Sir Fool,
Kneel now, and make for us a prayer!"

The jester doffed his cap and bells,
And stood the mocking court before;
They could not see the bitter smile
Behind the painted grin he wore.

He bowed his head, and bent his knee
Upon the Monarch's silken stool;
His pleading voice arose: "O Lord,
Be merciful to me, a fool!"

The Curt Jester

Have you tried art of any kind?   Yes.  I am a musician, so that's art, but I'm actually referring to visual art, so scratch that.  However, I've tried quite a few other things, though nothing for any long period of time.
What medium? Paints (acrylic), sculpting (paper maché), Drawing (Pencil/Colored pencil), Origami, Wood Turning (I consider it artistic - it was also a disaster)
What did you make? Probably my best (not very good) would be colored pencil sketches.  They are at least recognizable, though hardly masterpieces.
How successful? Not very.  While I'm sure I could do well with study, I've never put a lot of effort into learning.  Dabbling is fun, but anything else is work.
Have you ever sold anything you made? Yes, surprisingly.  When I was about six or seven, I sculpted a snake out of paper maché and painted it.  Sold it at a craft/art show for a couple dollars.  I didn't put a protective coat on it, so I'm sure the bugs ate it within a couple years if not sooner.