Children's Missals

Started by Jayne, July 11, 2021, 09:00:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jayne

I am looking for recommendations for Children's missals that I can offer to my grandchildren when taking them to Mass with me.  When my own children were young, I attended the Novus Ordo, so I have no experience what is available for the TLM.

With one grandchild, I have been using this catechism which seems to be a good fit:

What missals would suit children at this level of reading and understanding?

At what age are children typically ready to use an adult missal?
Jesus, meek and humble of heart, make my heart like unto Thine.

Insanis

Quote from: Jayne on July 11, 2021, 09:00:39 AM
I am looking for recommendations for Children's missals that I can offer to my grandchildren when taking them to Mass with me.  When my own children were young, I attended the Novus Ordo, so I have no experience what is available for the TLM.

Pictures and basic explanations are helpful for children who can read and may have difficulty following the Mass. You can usually do well just by going to where good missals are sold and seeing what they have for children.

QuoteAt what age are children typically ready to use an adult missal?

In my experience, as a child there was an issue with visibility: it is hard to see what is going on. A missal with pictures in it is very helpful for following along and understanding it. I remember waiting for key moments so I could stay in sync.

There is no age. They are ready when they can read it and follow the Mass. I was given my missal when I was quite young. They were all bought at once as far as I know and it was given to me when I was old enough to take care of it. I still have it and it is in good condition still. So give them a missal when they can take care of it and after they can read. But they might not be able to use it immediately, so something with more pictures can be very helpful.