The Parish Hall > Arts and Crafts

What Kind of Artwork Have You Tried?

(1/2) > >>

The Curt Jester:
In the spirit of Queen.saints thread about cooking (HAVE YOU...), here's one about being an artist. 

Have you tried art of any kind? 
What medium?
What did you make?
How successful? 
Have you ever sold anything you made?
If you were to try again, what would you use?

I'll post my answers in a different post to keep the question part open.

The Curt Jester:
Have you tried art of any kind?   Yes.  I am a musician, so that's art, but I'm actually referring to visual art, so scratch that.  However, I've tried quite a few other things, though nothing for any long period of time.
What medium? Paints (acrylic), sculpting (paper maché), Drawing (Pencil/Colored pencil), Origami, Wood Turning (I consider it artistic - it was also a disaster)
What did you make? Probably my best (not very good) would be colored pencil sketches.  They are at least recognizable, though hardly masterpieces.
How successful? Not very.  While I'm sure I could do well with study, I've never put a lot of effort into learning.  Dabbling is fun, but anything else is work.
Have you ever sold anything you made? Yes, surprisingly.  When I was about six or seven, I sculpted a snake out of paper maché and painted it.  Sold it at a craft/art show for a couple dollars.  I didn't put a protective coat on it, so I'm sure the bugs ate it within a couple years if not sooner.
If you were to try again, what would you use? I've been interested in trying oil paints, but who knows if I'll ever get around to it.

Optatus:
I don't call myself an artist since at best I do folk art of an amateur sort, but:

Have you tried art of any kind? Yes
What medium? Wood
What did you make? Carvings; started with caricature whittling (which I still love), then cottonwood bark carving, which is something like relief carving, and now chip carving is my current favourite.