Does the US still have "mental institutions"?

Started by longstrangetrip5, July 12, 2018, 03:02:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gardener

Jails have become the de facto mental institution.
"If anyone does not wish to have Mary Immaculate for his Mother, he will not have Christ for his Brother." - St. Maximilian Kolbe

red solo cup

Quote from: Gardener on August 08, 2018, 09:07:11 AM
That and Emergency Rooms. When I was an EMT we used to take them in all the time. Some of them had learned that if you arrive in an ambulance, you are seen right away...no sitting around in the waiting room. And they can't turn them away.
non impediti ratione cogitationis

longstrangetrip5

Quote from: red solo cup on August 08, 2018, 01:32:19 PM
Quote from: Gardener on August 08, 2018, 09:07:11 AM
That and Emergency Rooms. When I was an EMT we used to take them in all the time. Some of them had learned that if you arrive in an ambulance, you are seen right away...no sitting around in the waiting room. And they can't turn them away.

well, assuming u are speaking of people who are faking mental illness (?) it is selfish to use the emergency rooms like that but people have to be taught that it is selfish. What I myself keep forgetting about those not "catechized" is that  they have not been catechized. In other words Ignorance covers a multitude of offenses.. When I was young, i was selfish but i didnt KNOW i was selfish

syllabus.errorum

dymphnaw

[/quote]

They are guarded by men who ask for your thumb print and take a picture of you.

Provided you have a foreign passport you are allowed to leave again.

[/quote]which is why the hapless homeless don't want to be there, ditto homeless shelters. Yeh, you can leave the latter, but "they" will know all about where you are going and why