Sazuki method?

Started by angelcookie, June 22, 2017, 12:57:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

angelcookie

Do you really have to pay for music lessons? Can kids self teach piano or violin? I'm thinking Suzuki and Montessori :)

rbjmartin

Suzuki method still requires a teacher, and that teacher has to be trained in Suzuki method.

Quaremerepulisti

"Self-teaching Suzuki" is a contradiction in terms.  Without knowing how to read music, you won't know which notes to play and when unless someone else shows you.

It is possible to teach yourself using standard pedagogy (you can learn Every Good Boy Deserves Fudge, etc., on your own).  However, lots of bad habits will seep in unless this is at least guided by a knowledgeable teacher.  If anything, even worse for the violin then for the piano.

Chestertonian

Is it possible? Yes?  Is it a good idea? It depends.  Self taught usually = self motivated so that already often = stronger neural connections and better practice habits.  I taught Suzuki piano for several years and my students all varied in degrees of internal motivation.  It's easy to teach yourself stuff from watching youtube but a competent teacher will challenge them to grow beyond familiarity and comfort as well as correct bad technique and bad form.  You can inadvertently learn poor technique which takes time to unlearn.

If money is tight I recommend group instruction or spacing lessons further apart.  But that's my 0.02.  I may or may not be a shill for Big Piano.
"I am not much of a Crusader, that is for sure, but at least I am not a Mohamedist!"

Gardener

My wife grew up learning Suzuki harp (instructed by the woman who assisted Suzuki in developing the harp curriculum), her sister learned Suzuki violin.

They taught it for a while. Their technique was awful, robotic, and had to be corrected by non-Suzuki instructors.