Why study philosophy?

Started by Daniel, September 23, 2018, 12:15:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Daniel

As far as I know, it is altogether impossible to know which philosophy, if any, is correct. Philosophy itself gives no answer.

So, why study it?

Moreover, it seems that all of the philosophies out there are based in nothing but unverified assumptions. So while philosophy can be a powerful tool to beg the question, and perhaps to alter somebody else's opinion, it can never be a means to knowledge or truth.

Does anyone have a compelling argument which definitively proves one philosophy to be correct?
(I already know the basics of Thomism, but I am not yet convinced. And nobody seems to have proof. Just vague claims such as "Thomism solves all the problems which other philosophies fail to solve" and "Thomism has been recommended by the popes" and "Thomism alone provides an accurate description of reality".)

Philip G.

It is my rough understanding, and I am no expert, that there are two reasons why people might think philosophy is useful, or isn't useful.  If Aristotle is correct in synthesizing the sum of philosophy up to his point, then those two reasons would be the prior analytics for success in argumentation, and the posterior analytics for conviction of knowledge.  The prior analytics utilize the syllogism, and the posterior analytics utilize demonstration.

What this boils down to is that firstly, philosophy is useful if you believe that only that which can be demonstrated(empirically) is that which can be known.
And secondly, philosophy is useful if you believe that there is a denominator common to the two premise syllogism system that all mankind can agree upon.