The Parish Hall > Family Life

How does homeschooling multiple children work?

(1/4) > >>

GiftOfGod:
How can the teacher lecture if other students of different levels are in the same room? Is most of homeschooling reading and working out of books? Just curious.

Insanis:

--- Quote from: GiftOfGod on May 25, 2021, 01:15:06 AM ---How can the teacher lecture if other students of different levels are in the same room? Is most of homeschooling reading and working out of books? Just curious.

--- End quote ---

I have no personal experience, but regular school rooms are full of people at different levels. Regular school is more about managing crowds and dealing with boredom than education.

The basics are the same for everybody though, so one focuses on that. Then, one can exercise flexibility for the more capable.

Also, older ones can help younger.

GiftOfGod:

--- Quote from: Insanis on May 25, 2021, 01:17:30 AM ---
--- Quote from: GiftOfGod on May 25, 2021, 01:15:06 AM ---How can the teacher lecture if other students of different levels are in the same room? Is most of homeschooling reading and working out of books? Just curious.

--- End quote ---

I have no personal experience, but regular school rooms are full of people at different levels.

--- End quote ---

By levels I meant grades. If you have a kindergartener, a third-grader, a sixth-grader, and a tenth-grader...what do you do?

Insanis:

--- Quote from: GiftOfGod on May 25, 2021, 01:21:54 AM ---By levels I meant grades. If you have a kindergartener, a third-grader, a sixth-grader, and a tenth-grader...what do you do?

--- End quote ---

Grades are a construct, not reflecting reality that much.

People almost always progress faster than public school grades allow, so the distinction is for legal purposes only.

As for your scenario, that is pretty good for learning.